This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
Tom Tom champions civic innovation, creativity, and entrepreneurship in America’s hometowns.

[Back to Tom Tom Festival]
avatar for Tony Smith, Ph.D.

Tony Smith, Ph.D.

Secure Futures LLC
Staunton, Virginia
CEO of Secure Futures, a B Corp certified solar development company headquartered in Staunton VA. Founded in 2004, Secure Futures has helped lead the spread of solar power on the commercial scale in Virginia.

Secure Futures has always been committed to inventing new ways to bring solar to our customers. To accomplish our goals, we’ve had to take leadership, with our allies in the solar industry, to develop and lobby for public policy to increase access to solar power in Virginia.

We were the first in Virginia to deploy 20-year solar power purchase agreements (PPAs) to finance solar arrays — at no capital or maintenance expense to customers. This helped us build solar arrays that, at the time of their construction, were the largest in the state.

We were also the first in Virginia and in the U.S. to deploy Secure Futures’ proprietary Solar Self-Generation Agreement (Solar SGA®), a solar services agreement that we developed for use in utility territories that disallow the sale of electricity under traditional PPAs.
Wednesday, April 10

8:00am EDT

Civic Innovation Conference Violet CrownAndreas Addison • Wyatt Andrews • David Bearinger • Missy Benson • Seyoum Berhe • Chip Boyles • Jessica Brady • Derek Brown • James Burnett • T. Donna Chen, Ph.D. • José Cisneros • Ryan Coonerty • Roy Decker • Nora Demleitner • Tamara Dias • Timothy Dodson • Sheila Dugan • Bob Eiffert • Duanecia Evans • Erik Fabian • Harold Folley • Georgia Geen • Elizabeth Grossman • Juanita Hardy • Lee Harris • Tim Heaphy • David Hofert • The Chattery • Bobby Hopewell • Noah Horowitz • Philippa Hughes • Joe Iacobucci • Robert Jackson • Monique Johnson • Marta Keane • Gracie Kreth • Paul Krutko • Harriet Kuhr • Lev Kushner • Isha Lee • Chauncy Lennon • Chris Little • Zachary Markovits • Shawanda Mason-Moore • Sunshine Mathon • Dayna Matthew • Cathy McGhee • Lauren Mims • Andria McClellan • Andrew Mondschein • Chas Moore • Sutton Mora Hayes • Giles Morris • Louis Nelson • Andrea Orlando • Joanne Page • Melba Pearson • Christy Phillips • Matt Pritchard • Beena Raghavendran • Brandon Readus • Travis Rejman • Joshua René • Elliott Robinson • Hana Schank • Kristin Sharp • Rusty Smith • Natalie Snider • Josh Spickler • Tommye Sutton • Carl Swanson • Robyn Tannehill • Christine Tarquinio • Larry Terry • Chris Thompson • Emma Violand-Sanchez • Yulise Waters • Stelfanie Williams • Josh Yates • Hartfield Foundation • UVA Office of the Provost Renewable Energy Conference Violet CrownChris Bast • Marcy Bauer • Steve Bowers • Sam Brumberg • Dianne Corsello • Stephen Coughlin • Carlos Curbelo • Erik Curren • Chip Dicks • Mary Jane Elkins • Hayes Framme • Harry Godfrey • Andrew Gohn • Mark Goodwin • Chris Gullickson • Katherine Hamilton • Francis Hodsoll • Erik Johnson • Nico Johnson • Katharine Kollins • Kenneth McFadyen • Karla Loeb • Elizabeth McGowan • David Murray • Angela Navarro • Will Reisinger • Sandy Reisky • Taylor Sloane • Tony Smith, Ph.D. • Rachel Smucker • David Toscano • Danny Van Clief • Elizabeth Weir • Devin Welch • Michael Wu • Apex Clean Energy Renewable Energy Conference: Networking Coffee Violet Crown

9:00am EDT

10:00am EDT

11:00am EDT

12:00pm EDT

1:45pm EDT

2:45pm EDT

3:45pm EDT

5:00pm EDT

Thursday, April 11

8:00am EDT

5:00pm EDT

5:30pm EDT

6:30pm EDT

9:00pm EDT

Friday, April 12

6:30pm EDT

Sunday, April 14

5:45pm EDT


Twitter Feed