This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
Tom Tom champions civic innovation, creativity, and entrepreneurship in America’s hometowns.

[Back to Tom Tom Festival]
avatar for Dubby Wynne

Dubby Wynne

John O. Wynne is the retired President and Chief Executive Officer of Landmark Communications, Inc., which has interests in newspapers, broadcasting, cable programming and electronic publishing.
Currently, Mr. Wynne chairs Reinvent Hampton Roads, a 501(c)(3) created to strengthen Hampton Roads’ regional economy, and he chairs GO Virginia, a state appointed board which has created state financial incentives to encourage collaborations to create high paying jobs and strengthen the economy of every region of the Commonwealth. Mr. Wynne is a founding member of the Hampton Roads Business Roundtable. He is a member of the Virginia Business Higher Education Council. He is a member of the Board of Directors, and former Chair of the Hampton Roads Community Foundation.
He is former Rector, Board of Visitors, University of Virginia; former Chairman of the University of Virginia Investment Management Company; former Charter Trustee and member of the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees, Princeton University; former Chairman of the Academic Affairs Committee of the Board at Princeton; former Co-Chair of Leadership Giving for Princeton’s $1.1 billion Anniversary Campaign (1995-2000); and former Co-Chair of the $1.75 billion Aspire Campaign (2005-2007); former Annual Giving Chair, Princeton University, 2012-2014. He served on the Governor’s Commission on Higher Education Reform, Innovation and Investment and the Virginia
Higher Education Advisory Council.

Mr. Wynne is former Co-Chairman, Hampton Roads Partnership; former Chairman of the Board of the Virginia Business Council; former Trustee and President, Board of Trustees, Norfolk Academy; former Member of the Board of Trustees, Eastern Virginia Medical School Foundation; former Director and Member, Executive Committee, National Cable Television Association; former Chair, National Satellite
Programmers Group; former Member and Vice Chair, Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters; former Chair, United Way of South Hampton Roads Capital Campaign; and former Director and President, Junior Achievement of Tidewater.

Awards – In 1997, Mr. Wynne received the Vanguard Award for Programmers from the National Cable Television Association, and the Governor’s Award from the
National Academy of Cable Programming for “his leadership and insight in making The Weather Channel the preeminent provider of weather information, and one of the most innovative and popular networks on television…”

In 2006, he received a first citizen award from the National Governor’s Association for Distinguished Service to State Government for his work in creating and then helping to implement the Council on Virginia’s Future, which focuses on developing a long-range strategy and performance management system for the Commonwealth of Virginia.

In 2014, he received the Darden Award for Regional Leadership from the CIVIC Leadership Institute. He was awarded an honorary degree, Doctor of Humane Letters, from Old Dominion University in 2014. In 2016, he was named to the Cable Hall of Fame.

Mr. Wynne received his BA from Princeton University in 1967 and JD from the University of Virginia in 1971.

My Speakers Sessions

Friday, April 12

8:00am EDT

Entrepreneurial Ecosystems Conference Violet CrownPamela Abalu • Joshua Anton • Ross Baird • Grace Belangia • Jon Bier • Jeanne Milliken Bonds • Carleen Bowers • Derrick Braziel • Marland Buckner • Tighe Bullock • Sean Carr, Ph.D. • Jill Carroll • Ric Cavender • Tom Chapman • Mylea Charvat • Tom Click • Mick Cornett • Elizabeth Cromwell • Matt Dunne • Chinedu Echeruo • Enoch Elwell • Roben Farzad • Jason Feifer • Elizabeth Freeman • Jason Fuller • Rick Gordon • Sameer Gulati • David Hall • Chris Harris • Imagene Harris • Felecia Hatcher-Pearson • Sean Henry • Tiffany Henry • Erika Herz • David Hirsch • Archie Holmes • Steve Hoang • Mitchell Horowitz • Anika Horn • Fay Horwitt • Denise Hubbard • Matt Illian • Roger Johnson • Erik Johnston • Joseph Kapp • Bo Kemp • Adam Klein • Christine Lai • Stephanie Landrum • Kim Lane • Michael Lenox • Christopher Lloyd • Michelle Marks • Eric Martin • John McElligott • Evans McMillion • Tina Metzer • Jennifer Miller • Maegan Moore • Stephen Moret • Eric Parker • Chad Rogers • Julia Ross • Marco Rubin • Jessica Sabbath • Timothy Sands • Marie Schacht • Gene Schleppenbach • Joel Selzer • David Touve • Sean Washington • Brian Watson • Tom Weithman • Jayson White • Christina Winn • Dubby Wynne • Paul Yandura • Beth Zimmer • UVA’s Batten Institute at the Darden School of Business • Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

10:00am EDT


Twitter Feed