This event has ended. Visit the official site or create your own event on Sched.
Tom Tom champions civic innovation, creativity, and entrepreneurship in America’s hometowns.

[Back to Tom Tom Festival]
avatar for Erik Johnston

Erik Johnston

The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development
Erik Johnston serves as Director of the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD). Governor Ralph Northam appointed him on January 15, 2018. Erik is responsible for management and oversight of the agency, which provides community development, economic development and housing program support to communities across the Commonwealth. The Department also focuses on encouraging regional collaboration between localities and other key sectors and administers statewide building codes. Erik provides policy and legislative support to the Secretary of Commerce and Trade. He serves as ex-officio member of the Board of Commissioners of the Virginia Housing Development Authority and as the Governor's state alternate for the Appalachian Regional Commission. Prior to this role Erik served as the Chief Deputy at DHCD. He also served as the Deputy Policy Director in the Office of Governor Terry McAuliffe. His background includes service to local governments as the Director of Government Affairs for the Virginia Association of Counties. He also spent eight years working on federal policy with housing and community development stakeholders through his work with the National Association of Counties. Erik grew up in the Roanoke Valley and now resides in Chesterfield. He received his Bachelor's degree in Political Science and International Affairs from the University of Mary Washington and his Master's degree in Public Administration from Virginia Tech.

My Speakers Sessions

Friday, April 12

8:00am EDT

Entrepreneurial Ecosystems Conference Violet CrownPamela Abalu • Joshua Anton • Ross Baird • Grace Belangia • Jon Bier • Jeanne Milliken Bonds • Carleen Bowers • Derrick Braziel • Marland Buckner • Tighe Bullock • Sean Carr, Ph.D. • Jill Carroll • Ric Cavender • Tom Chapman • Mylea Charvat • Tom Click • Mick Cornett • Elizabeth Cromwell • Matt Dunne • Chinedu Echeruo • Enoch Elwell • Roben Farzad • Jason Feifer • Elizabeth Freeman • Jason Fuller • Rick Gordon • Sameer Gulati • David Hall • Chris Harris • Imagene Harris • Felecia Hatcher-Pearson • Sean Henry • Tiffany Henry • Erika Herz • David Hirsch • Archie Holmes • Steve Hoang • Mitchell Horowitz • Anika Horn • Fay Horwitt • Denise Hubbard • Matt Illian • Roger Johnson • Erik Johnston • Joseph Kapp • Bo Kemp • Adam Klein • Christine Lai • Stephanie Landrum • Kim Lane • Michael Lenox • Christopher Lloyd • Michelle Marks • Eric Martin • John McElligott • Evans McMillion • Tina Metzer • Jennifer Miller • Maegan Moore • Stephen Moret • Eric Parker • Chad Rogers • Julia Ross • Marco Rubin • Jessica Sabbath • Timothy Sands • Marie Schacht • Gene Schleppenbach • Joel Selzer • David Touve • Sean Washington • Brian Watson • Tom Weithman • Jayson White • Christina Winn • Dubby Wynne • Paul Yandura • Beth Zimmer • UVA’s Batten Institute at the Darden School of Business • Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation

2:30pm EDT


Twitter Feed